Masterclass With Maythem Ridha

Contact Sheets :

Maythem Ridha is a incredible photographer who has shot for many companies, organisations and magazines like National Geographic etc. We were lucky enough to listen to a short talk about his life, recent projects he had worked on and different techniques he has learn during his time as a photographer. Then he took us around town shooting images with him as he taught us about different techniques and skills he had previously mentioned in the talk. The images above our my images from that shoot. And these images are the ones I decided to edit :

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, for me I think the shoot with Maythem did not go as well as I had liked. I really enjoyed trying the new techniques and battling with the public about why we were taking photos. But when we had finished and I looked at the images properly on the computer I realised that some of them did not turn out as well as I had wanted and came to realise that using the techniques Maythem uses when he does street/documentary photography was not as easy as I had thought. However, it does make me want to shoot more street/documentary type images as I would like to be able to have a image that I am proud of after the shoot. That being said I do like the way I have edited the images above and how all three of them are a similar tone. I also like to think I did a good job saving them because if you look closely at the contact sheet above you can see that they really weren’t the best to begin with.

Once again I really enjoyed working with Maythem all be it for a short amount of time and wished I could have listen to the longer talk in the first half of the day too. I am going to shoot a lot more street photography now as it is a good way to know everything about your camera and it will help me find more confidence when I am shooting.

 

Leave a comment